EFG London Jazz Festival 2021

Andrew McCormack Trio + Rob Barron Trio

Ubuntu Music Live Presents Double Bill

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 19 th November 2021

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

Tonight Ubuntu Music presents two of its finest recording artists--pianists Andrew McCormack and Rob Barron, who will perform separately with their respective trios. Andrew will open the evening with a short solo piano performance, highlighting his critically acclaimed Solo album release last year, and will then be joined by his recently formed trio. Rob will take the stage for the second set, sharing music from his outstanding 2020 trio album, From This Moment On. A must-see double bill from these exceptional musicians.

Read more ...

“Now at the pinnacle of his compositional powers”

BBC Music Magazine

British piano virtuoso Andrew McCormack has teamed up with fast rising bassist Joe Downard and drummer Joel Barford to complete a super trio that delivers wide ranging contemporary piano trio jazz in the vein of Keith Jarrett and Brad Mehldau. McCormack has been an essential partner with the Kyle Eastwood Band, while both Downard and Youngs remain some the most in demand players on the London and international jazz scene. Expect world class exuberant interplay from these exceptional artists.

Pianist Rob Barron has been a mainstay on the London jazz and studio scene for years and is highly regarded for his improvisational flair, innate musicality and a deft touch that reveals influences inspired by Blue Note greats Cedar Walton, Wynton Kelly and Sonny Clark. The Rob Barron Trio was formed 2012 with drummer Josh Morrison for exactly this purpose. Performing regularly at Ronnie Scott’s jazz club, their engaging blend of musical creativity led them to open for The Louis Hayes Quartet, The Kenny Barron Trio and Cecile McClorin Salvant. Barron’s latest recording, From This Moment On, received outstanding critical acclaim.

Band Line Up

1st set
Andrew McCormack (piano)
Joe Downard (acoustic bass)
Joel Barford (drums)

2nd set
Rob Barron (piano)
Jeremy Brown (acoustic bass)
Josh Morrison (drums)