Jazz Souled Out Sessions

J-Felix Live

In Association with Shades of Soul Ltd

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 27 th April 2019

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

J-Felix is the moniker of producer, multi-instrumentalist and singer, Joe F. Newman. Fresh from touring as Alice Russell’s guitarist and backing singer, J’s woozy, heart-on-sleeve, P-funk laced songs were quickly snapped up by Tru Thoughts and found a home on the Brighton imprint in 2015. Eager to create his own sonic stamp, J-Felix’s sound blends influence from early trip hop and US hip hop, with his love of all things funk, jazz and soul. J-Felix steers away from using samples in his work, preferring to layer up recordings of his own vocal and instrumental performances.

Read more ...

“A sublime journey through squelchy electro-funk, tripped out neo soul and woozy hip-hop beats”


Releasing two bodies of work in quick succession; his debut album ‘101 Reasons’ (2015), and his disco-tinted “Runaway EP” (2016), J-Felix’s music has been showcased at a string of support slots with his full live band for George Clinton (Parliament – Funkadelic), Roy Ayers, Hot 8 and Soul ll Soul as well as regular headline shows. J-Felix also shines on stage as a DJ and has played Glastonbury, Soundwave Croatia, Love Supreme, Nova Batida and more.  2017 saw lots of production and guitar work for Abi Flynn, Swindle, Ibibio Sound Machine and Wrongtom and the Ragga Twins whilst 2018 saw the release of a further two EP’s, disco and boogie flavoured, “Say The Word EP” in April and further explorations in funk on the “J-Freq/Glide” single in June. Remix works include Hot 8 brass Band, Werkha, Paper Tiger, Lakuta, Wrongtom and The Ragga Twins and Amp Fiddler.

J-Felix’s sound has been picked up by DJs & tastemakers including Julie Adenuga (Beats1), who played his music on her debut show; Huey Morgan (BBC 6Music), who featured two tracks as his “Beat of the Week” and “Meat of the Week”; as well as Don Letts, Mary Anne Hobbs, Nemone (BBC 6Music) and heavy rotations on Radio Nova & FIP Radio which add to a knockout review from NME, premieres from Clash and SoulBounce and more.

Band Lineup

J-Felix (guitar/ synth/ samples)

Charlie Drayton (bass)

Creeda Kirkham (drums)

Jack Kendon (trumpet)

Sophie Paul (vocals)

Afua F (vocals)