John Turville Quintet featuring Julian Arguelles

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Monday 25 th February 2019

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

This all-star group, led by the award-winning pianist John Turville, and featuring a frontline of the lyrical and multi-faceted trumpeter Robbie Robson and the world-renowned composer and saxophonist Julian Arguelles, was assembled in 2017 to explore a wide-ranging set of new music composed by John as well as material from Julian and new arrangements of choice repertoire from Tonino Horta, Michael Petrucciani and John Coltrane.

Taking inspiration from British jazz legends John Taylor and Kenny Wheeler, the Argentine composer and tango pianist Diego Schissi, and imbued with a deep love of the jazz and classical tradition, John’s writing is refined and wide-ranging, from lyrical ballads and spiky rhythmic compositions to reflective classical vignettes and free jazz.

John Turville is one of the leading jazz pianists in the UK (Ian Mann) and his music has been described as world class… exquisite… constantly inventive (***** Jazz Journal) and mining as deep a seam of musical ideas as Brad Mehldau (John Fordham, Guardian) He has won multiple awards for his trio albums, including ‘Best Album’ in the Parliamentary Awards for his debut ‘Midas’ and won ‘Best Instrumentalist’ in the London Jazz Awards 2011. He is one of the busiest sidemen in the UK, having recorded over 30 albums with some of the leading jazz and tango groups in Europe, including Tim Garland, Asaf Sirkis, Ant Law, the Matt Ridley Quartet, Yuri Goloubev, Gilad Atzmon, Solstice, Brigitte Beraha, Tony Kofi/Alan Barnes ‘Aggregation’ and many others.

Julian Arguelles needs no introduction, as ‘one of the very finest saxophonists in modern jazz in this or for that matter in any country’. Hehas always spoken with a unique voice and is hugely influential to a new generation of British and European jazz musicians, with his writing described as supremely lyrical, with beautiful melodies whilst staying cliché free. He has recorded 15 CDs as a leader including ‘Circularity’ with Dave Holland and the late John Taylor. Julian was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by Royal Birmingham Conservatoire for services to music in 2017. He also won ‘Best Album’ in the 2016 Parliamentary Awards for his South African Tribute ‘Let It Be Told’ and has worked extensively with the Frankfurt Radio Big Band and the legendary Loose Tubes.

The new album from the quintet, Head First was recorded at the legendary Artesuono Studio in Udine, Italy and is released on Whirlwind Recordings accompanied by a 16-date national tour, supported generously by Arts Council England.

Band Lineup

John Turville (piano)

Julian Arguelles (tenor and soprano sax)

Robbie Robson (trumpet)

Dave Whitford (bass)

James Maddren (drums)