Kathrine Windfeld Big Band

featuring Gerard Presencer - trumpet

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 22 nd September 2018

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Kathrine Windfeld is considered one of the most exciting and refreshing new Scandinavian jazz composers/arrangers/pianists, and she leads a 15-piece youthful, charismatic dream-team of razor-sharp ensemble musicians and star quality soloists. With her sensational big band debut “Aircraft” she won “New Jazz Artist of the Year” in 2016 at the Danish Music Awards, with further nominations for “Composer of the year” and “Album of the year”. Her 2017 release “Latency” has garnered overwhelmingly positive reviews internationally and further establishes Kathrine Windfeld in the vanguard of contemporary European composers and arrangers.

Read more ...

“Kathrine Windfeld is a rising star of the European jazz scene, not least for her bold writing for her adventurous big band” - Stuart Nicholson, Jazzwise Magazine, 2017

“Windfeld’s band of leading young Scandinavian musicians is as tight and sharp as any you’ll hear." - The Guardian

Over the past 25 years Gerard Presencer has carved out a formidable reputation as one of the most respected trumpeters on the European scene. He exploded onto the international scene, aged 18, when US3 asked him to play the solo part on Blue Note’s Cantaloupe Island (re-imagined as Cantaloop Flip-Fantasia), that became one of the biggest selling jazz records of the 1990s. Since then, he has performed with a who’s who of international jazz artists, and has developed a career as an educator, arranger and composer. Gerard has won the trumpet category of the British Jazz Awards 4 times, He has released 4 solo albums, most recently his first big band recording with the Danish Radio Big Band entitled Groove Travels.

Band Lineup

GUEST TRUMPET: Gerard Presencer

TRUMPETS: André Bak (DK) , Rolf Thofte Sørensen (DK), Magnus Oseth (NO)

TROMBONES: Mikkel Aagaard (DK), Göran Abelli (SE), Anders Larson (SE)

SAXES: Jakob Lundbak (DK), Jakub Wiecek (PL), Roald Elm Larsen (DK), Ida Karlsson (SE), Toke Reines (DK)

RHYTHM SECTION: Viktor Sandström (guitar, SE), Johannes Vaht (bass, SE), Henrik Holst Hansen (drums, DK), Kathrine Windfeld (piano, compositions, DK)