Funk Masters Series present

Nick Pride & The Pimptones

In Association with Shades of Soul Ltd

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 31 st January 2020

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

After more than a decade on the Funk and Soul sceneNick Pride & The Pimptones return with a newly revamped line up. Shades of Soul are delighted to welcome them back to the PizzaExpress Jazz Club. Composer and songwriter Nick Pride's slick arrangements have all the harmonic sophistication that the Jazz cats love, delivered with a heavyweight punch that keeps the dancefloor moving. Their live show kicks off with tight, punchy instrumentals, making way to sweetly crafted soul music as they are joined onstage by fantastic new vocalist Eliza Lawson. Cherry-picking from a back catalogue comprising seven full length LPs, expect a quality performance from start to finish.  


Read more ...

"A lovely slice of modern Soul! This is quality all the way and will be hammered to an inch of its life on the show!" – Craig Charles (Funk&Soul Show on BBC6)

"In a sea of funky soundalikes these guys stand out for the magnificent vocals and dancefloor-friendly jazzy arrangements. Mighty Mighty!" – Dean Rudland (Acid Jazz / BGP)

The Pimptones formed in 2007 in the North East of England. Led by guitarist, composer, arranger and producer Nick Pride, they went on to sign for Record Kicks and now perform across Europe.

The group first caught the eye of funk fans with their single 'Deeper Pimp' on Wack Records, the track was championed by Craig Charles (Funk&Soul Show on BBC6), Francesco Adinolfi (Radio2 RAI) and Pete Isaac (Jelly Jazz) among others.
The track was the first of the group’s 'Live-Band Bootlegs', an acapella fused with original live backing, a unique approach to the Mash-Up genre, and a show stopping live feature.

After the self-funded debut CD 'It's The Pimptones' in 2009, The Pimptones broke through in 2011 with the single 'Waitin’ So Long' featuring Jess Roberts and the LP 'Midnight Feast of Jazz' (Record Kicks) a global success and was followed up by the digital release of 'Remixed Feast of Jazz', including collaborations with TM Duke, Diesler, Smoove and Renegades of Jazz.
The band remained busy between albums with the release of two bootleg 7" singles on French label Badass 45s. "Unfinished Sympathy" b/w "White Lines" was followed in 2013 by "Shimmy" b/w "Honey".

The band's second studio LP 'Rejuiced Phat Shake' was released in February 2014 on Légère Recordings (Germany) and featured collaborations with a host of amazing vocalists and musicians. The single 'Everything's Better In The Summertime' gained considerable radio airplay and was featured on several compilations including 'Craig Charles Funk & Soul Classics' (Sony Music).

They remained on Légère Recordings for the release of their third official album 'Go Deep' in 2016.

Nick Pride (guitar)

Eliza Lawson (vocals)

Keith Nicholson (trumpet)

Alex Saxon (sax and flute)

Jimmy Brown (bass)

Pete Lawson (drums)