Nimbus Sextet 'Forward Thinker'

Special Album Launch

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 27 th May 2022

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

Nimbus Sextet are one of the most innovative bands in the new wave of UK jazz. Led by pianist/keyboardist Joe Nichols and signed to Acid Jazz Records, the multi-national contemporary jazz outfit fuses their jazz, world, hip-hop and funk influences uniquely into a strong melodic blend that has set them apart from their contemporaries. Nimbus Sextet celebrate the release of their second Acid Jazz album Forward Thinker with a very special launch show at PizzaExpress Live on the album's day of release. They are joined tonight by top UK jazz musicians and very special album guests Nathaniel Cross (trombone), Jackson Mathod (flugelhorn) and Charlotte de Graaf (vocals). This performance follows hot off the heels of their debut at the New Morning in Paris the night before, and a packed out first performance at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club back in January. Having garnered widespread critical acclaim from the likes of Jazzwise, Jamie Cullum on BBC Radio 2 and major support from Jazz FM (including achieving the prestigious 'Album Of The Week' spotlight with both of their albums), the band have firmly established themselves as leading lights in the new wave of British jazz.  

Read more ...

"Nimbus Sextet have caught our attention in a big way"


Nimbus Sextet, one of the most innovative groups in the new wave of UK jazz, are launching the campaign for their second Acid Jazz album, FORWARD THINKER, set for release on May 27th 2022. The band kicked off the campaign on January 19th with their first ever performance at the legendary Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in London. A single, “To The Light” was issued on Acid Jazz earlier that day. The LP was produced by Nuovi Fratelli - production duo Wayne A. Dickson and Luigi Pasquini. It sees the band expand their musical horizons, incorporating hip-hop and dance elements to the jazz, world and funk sounds they are well known for. The release features contributions from Nathaniel Cross (Solange, Emelie Sande, Macy Gray), Nubiyan Twist’s Jonny Enser, Scottish saxophonist Harry Weir and percussion legend Steve Forman (Pink Floyd, Barabra Streisand, Herbie Hancock). “High Time” - featuring Jackson Mathod (Stormzy), and singer Charlotte de Graaf (Kid Creole and the Coconuts), was issued on April 5th. The band will make their Paris debut at the celebrated NEW MORNING with support from La Récré on May 26th, and return to London for their album launch show at PIZZAEXPRESS LIVE the following evening.

The core of the Nimbus sound comes courtesy of bandleader and primary composer Joe Nichols (keys/harmonica), and long-time collaborators Alex Palmer (drums) and Mischa Stevens (bass), who met while studying at Edinburgh University. The full lineup includes trumpeter Euan Allardice, saxophonist Michael Butcher and guitarist Honza Kourimsky.
Following the success of their self-released debut single ‘Seance’, Nichols signed the band to Acid Jazz Records in spring 2019. DREAMS FULFILLED was released on October 23rd, 2020. With the album receiving widespread critical acclaim from Jazzwise, Jazzed, Clash Magazine, BBC 6Music (including Huey Morgan and the Craig Charles Funk & Soul Show) and radio stations worldwide. Their breakthrough singles, “Trap Door” and “Lily White”, featured on Jazz FM’s playlist on heavy rotation for several months, with the band being awarded Jazz FM’s ‘Album Of The Week’ later in the year. Two live performance videos were premiered by Jazzed while another debuted on Clash Magazine. The HELIX EP followed on September 3rd, 2021. It featured two unreleased recordings from the album sessions including their blistering reimagined version of Yussef Kamaal’s modern day classic “Lowrider”, which enjoyed plays on BBC6 Music and again on Jazz FM’s featured playlist.


Band Line Up

Joe Nichols (keys, piano, harmonica)
Michael Butcher (saxophones)
Euan Allardice (trumpet)
Honza Kourimsky (guitar)
Mischa Stevens (bass)
Alex Palmer (drums)

'with special guests: Nathaniel Cross (trombone), Jackson Mathod (flugelhorn) and Charlotte de Graaf (vocals)' .