Oli Rockberger's 'Sovereign'

Album Launch Oct 19th & 20th

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 20 th October 2017

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

Oli Rockberger wil be launching his 4th solo album 'Sovereign' over two nights at PizzaExpress Holborn on October 19th and 20th. The album, co-produced by Oli and Chris Abell, was recorded March '15 in NY and features performances by a stellar cast including: Jordan Perlson (Becca Stevens), Jordan Scannella (Tortured Soul),  Zach Danziger (Donny McCaslin) and Owen Biddle (The Roots) and will be released by acclaimed UK independent label Whirlwind Recordings on October 20th.  Oli will be joined by a stellar group featuring drummer Marijus Aleksa (China Moses), guitarist Giorgio Serci (Kenny Wheeler), vocalist/fiddler Hannah Read (Songs of Separation) and bassist Michael Janisch (Diane Reeves). Oli is a regular sell out performer at Pizza Express, so book soon to avoid disappointment.

Photo credits: Rob Blackham

"Oli can conjure up echoes of Randy Newman, Todd Rundgren and Peter Gabriel, yet still inhabit a sound world all of his own.."


London-born keys man, singer, songwriter and producer Oli Rockberger has performed and/or recorded alongside Carly Simon, John Mayer, Steve Gadd, Jesse Harris, Levon Helm, Randy Brecker, Gloria Gaynor, Steve Jordan, Judy Collins, Nathan East, Becca Stevens, Richard Spaven & Jordan Rakei, Will Lee, Louis Cole and Chris Dave And The Drumhedz in addition to his work as a member of the prodigious, multi-award winning songstress Laura Mvula's touring band (keys/vox). 'Sovereign' is Oli's 4th studio album to date, following his acclaimed 'Old Habits', described by London Jazz as a "monument to be relished in the border territory of jazz and pop" and will be released by leading independent UK record label Whirlwind Recordings on October 20th 2017. Oli will be launching the album over two nights at our Holborn venue on October 19th and 20th alongside Marijus Aleksa (China Moses), guitarist Giorgio Serci (Kenny Wheeler), vocalist/fiddler Hannah Read (Songs of Separation) and bassist Michael Janisch (Diane Reeves). Please visit www.olirockberger.com for more info.

Band Lineup

Oli Rockberger (keys/vocals)

Marijus Aleksa (drums)

Giorgio Serci (guitar)

Hannah Read (vocals/fiddle)

Michael Janisch (bass)