Roots 8

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Tuesday 28 th November 2023

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

Gregg Kofi Brown (Osibisa) and Sam Kelly (Cymande) have formed a multi-national "All Star" eight-piece band boasting a wealth of super talented musicians and a world tropical brand of music. ROOTS 8 creates a sound that draws on rare groove rhythms combined with Caribbean/Afro Jazz, African back beats and soulful melodies. 

Read more ...

Roots 8 are together as one. From their time in two iconic bands of the ‘70s, Sam Kelly and Gregg Kofi Brown have finally realised a long-term plan – to share the stage together with a new sound that draws on Cymande’s ‘calypso’ back beat and the African vibe of Osibisa. ROOTS 8 embrace a selection of World Music including well-known Osibisa hits ("Sunshine Day"/"Bisa") and Cymande favourites.

Band Line Up

Gregg Kofi Brown (lead vocals/rhythm guitar)
Sam Kelly (drums)
Maiuko (lead vocals)
Richard Sadler (bass)
Gabby (keys)
Tony Qunta (vocals/guitar)
Clare Hirst (sax/flute/clarinet/backing vocals)
Claude Deppa (flugelhorn)