EFG London Jazz Festival 2019

Tomorrow's Warriors 'Bustin Outacube'

Late Night Jam Session

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 23 rd November 2019

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Tomorrow’s Warriors take over the PizzaExpress late nights with jam sessions led by the next generation of fresh young talent from this iconic UK jazz organisation. For more than 25 years, Tomorrow's Warriors jam sessions have been the proving ground for the best in young British jazz. Previous participants include Denys Baptiste, Soweto Kinch, Shabaka Hutchings, Eska, Zara McFarlane, Nathaniel Facey, Moses Boyd, Binker Golding, Peter Edwards, Mark Crown, Tom Skinner, and players from the live bands of Adele, Laura Mvula, and Rudimental.


Guest performances from:



Formed in summer 2016, Nihilism has made its mark on the underground London music scene. A 5-piece made up of saxophone, violin, keys, drums & bass. Their influences range from Jazz, Hip Hop, Funk and Soul to Grime. A culmination of genres that will introduce to a soundscape you’ve never visited before. Their debut acclaimed EP ‘EXPOSITION’ brims with funk, energy and unapologetic rawness and has been played on various radio stations, including Jazz FM. This year, as resident artists at the Roundhouse, they are working towards recording their debut album.  
Soprano Sax- Shango Ijishakin 
Violin/Vocals- Saskia Horton 
Keys/Synths- Lorenz Okello-Osengor 
Bass/Electronics-Christopher Luu 
Drums -Benjamin Appiah 



The Principle of invariance itself alludes to an alternative approach. The band strives to take a new and modern direction into the sounds of the musical heritage before them. With hard-hitting, raw grooves and a soulful edge, the group takes influence from many sources including jazz, drum & bass and prog/fusion. 

They have played behind grime MC ‘Novelist’ and supported world-renowned jazz singer ‘Zara Macfarlane’ at Jazz Cafe. They recently released their debut single ‘Oracle’ 

Line Up:  

Kaidi Akinnibi - (Saxophone/Vocal)
John Jones - (Bass)
Lorenz Okello-Osengor - (Keyboards)
Morgan Simpson - (Drums)
Daniel Rogerson - (Guitar)


Jelly Cleaver 

Jelly Cleaver is a guitarist, producer and singer-songwriter based in South London, and has been called ‘the next artist to make an impact on the London’s Jazz Scene’ by Supreme Standards. With an eclectic taste in music, Jelly is heavily involved in both the jazz and DIY/punk scenes in London. She's also an activist, and a strain of political dissent runs through her music. Her latest album, The Dream Jazz Manifesto, was released in May 2019, receiving critical acclaim and radio play by BBC Radio 1xtra, Rinse FM, Jazz FM, Worldwide FM and others. 


Jelly Cleaver – guitar/vocals
Beth Hopkins – Saxophone
Lorenz Okello-Osengor – piano
Will Heaton – bass
Tash Keary – drums 


Maddy Coombs 

Maddy Coombs is a young tenor saxophonist and composer, originally from Northampton. As a participant on the acclaimed Young Artist Development Programme at Tomorrow’s Warriors, she learnt under the mentorship of Gary Crosby, Binker Golding and Alex Davis. Her influences include saxophonists John Coltrane, Joe Lovano and Seamus Blake as well as musicians like Ahmad Jamal, Wynton Marsalis and Theolonious Monk. Performing as part of the Tomorrow’s Warriors ensemble, she has previously performed her own compositions at Foyles for their Nu Jazz Moves series, and at Love Supreme Jazz Festival.