True Think featuring Robert Mitchell

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Wednesday 11 th May 2022

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

True Think is led by the acclaimed keyboard player/pianist/songwriter Robert Mitchell who returns to PizzaExpress with this new, exciting project. True Think is a multi-generational, multi-cultural reflection of several periods of Robert Mitchell’s journey. Performing the music from their forthcoming album of powerful songs of protest, love and peace, they blend Electronic, Jazz, RnB, Spoken Word, film and folk influences together to create a unique sound. Joining Robert (Keys, perc, sampler) on stage will be vocalist and songwriter Liselotte Östblom on vocals, multi-instrumentalist Zayn Mohammed, on guitar, multi-genre bassist/keys player Tom Mason, and drummer and percussionist Saleem Raman.

Read more ...

"The astonishing Robert Mitchell, familiar as the pianist and MD for the recent ‘BBC Four celebrates Jazz 625 For One Night Only’, took the keyboard apart in every sense of the word. He uses both hands and sometimes cross-hands with equal force to build solos of unbelievable depth and complexity. Urged on by his fellow players and the awe-struck audience, his playing became ever more audacious as the evening progressed."

Robert Mitchell is a throwback to the powerful tradition of artistic mastery in pursuit of transcendence. He is proud to have been a Steinway artist for over a decade. He was MD on the successful BBC4 television programme 'Jazz 625 Live: For One Night Only' which won the British Broadcasting Award. He has played with Billy Harper, Greg Osby, Courtney Pine CBE, Alicia Olatuja, Orphy Robinson, Steve Coleman, Phil Ranelin, Omar Puente, Ernesto Simpson, Daymé Arocena, Jason Rebello, Shirley Smart, Basement Jaxx, Dub Colossus, Daniel Casimir, Joshua Redman, Jacqui Dankworth MBE, and many others. Robert Mitchell’s works have been performed by the Grammy-winning Bournemouth Symphony Chorus and the London Sinfonietta, amongst others. He is a sought-for composer and known as an innovator with a distinct, unique voice.

Band Lineup

Robert Mitchell (keys, sampler, perc)

Liselotte Östblom (vocals)

Zayn Mohammed (guitar)

Tom Mason (electric bass)

Saleem Raman (drums)