Brass’d Off Series

Young Pilgrims

In Association with Shades of Soul Ltd

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 2 nd April 2022

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Young Pilgrims, the addictive young brass band brimming with jazz-rock energy, release their much-anticipated new studio album We’re Young Pilgrims this June, alongside a cluster of live dates as Britain’s live music scene reawakens! “The feverish, brassy, raucous intensity of 'Canal Tripping' is refreshing from Young Pilgrims new this June on Brum jazz indie Stoney Lane. The ballsy 'Hall of Meat' is also streaming drawn from We're Young Pilgrims. Strap yourself in.” - Marlbank. Growing out of the thriving Birmingham jazz scene, Young Pilgrims have found themselves drawing fans from across Europe and beyond with their intense live performances - from beer-soaked dance floors to London’s South Bank, the Paris Jazz Festival to Love Supreme Festival. 

Read more ...

The Pilgrims’ adventurous brass-heavy, rock-influenced sound is brought together by their explosive nine- strong line-up, featuring trumpets and trombones alongside the baritone sax, sousaphone and two drummers driving the band’s high-energy rhythmic groove. 

With improvising invention set against their infectious melodies, the band follow their 2016 debut (Little Things) with their first fully produced studio album - released 18th June on Stoney Lane Records - with an unorthodox tour reclaiming Britain’s old bandstands, festivals and venue dates taking their imaginative music across the UK later in 2021 and into 2022. 

Inspired by renegades, Scottish cities, skateboarding and even a brief and murky incursion into a local canal, We’re Young Pilgrims features eight originals from frontman Richard Foote alongside fellow Scots Kieran McLeod and drummer Jonathan Silk, with striking new arrangements of music from Vulfpeck, Elliot Smith and D’Angelo. 

Band Line Up

Richard Foote and Kieran McLeod (trombones)

Aaron Diaz, Sean Gibbs and Sam Wooster (trumpets)

Michael Owers (sousaphone)

Chris Maddock (baritone saxophone)

Jonathan Silk and Euan Palmer (drums)