Imperial College Big Band

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 19 th February 2022

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Imperial College Big Band, the official big band of Imperial College London, formed of the finest jazz musicians at the university, are excited to be returning yet again to PizzaExpress Live for 2022. Composed of Imperial scientists, engineers, and medics, the platinum-award winning big band, under the masterful direction of Chris Dean (Syd Lawrence Orchestra), are prepared to blow you away with a setlist jampacked full of swing hits, funky fusion, and big band classics!

Read more ...

The big band, made up of scientists, engineers, and medics, all with a passion for jazz, are a driving force in the university big band scene within London and the UK. The first-call band for events both in and out of the College, IC Big Band has garnered an exceptional reputation over the years, including national recognition on winning the platinum award at the National Concert Band Festival in 2017.

With such a reputation, the band has enjoyed plentiful gig opportunities, including previous appearances at Pizza Express Live and at numerous other venues across the UK and abroad. Frequent collaboration with other university big bands, such as those of the Royal College of Music and Oxford University, are always highlights of the band’s gig calendar. 

IC Big Band has also caught the eye of many of the UK’s finest jazz musicians, having been guest directed by the likes of Pete Long (Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Orchestra), Gareth Lockrane (Grooveyard) and Callum Au (Callum Au Big Band), to name a few.

More recently, the band has appointed a new musical director – Chris Dean of the Syd Lawrence Orchestra. Known as “Britain’s foremost big band director”, Chris has been pushing the band to its musical limits, sharpening its sound to heights not heard before! Under Chris’ direction, the big band has widened its stylistic scope, tackling the charts of Pat Metheny to Count Basie, to those of the Buddy Rich Big Band, as well as some original charts of their own. / Facebook

Band Line Up

Ollie Burrow, Jonny Wiliams (alto sax)
Joe Mackley, Emma Bell (tenor sax)
Tabs Goldman (bari sax)
Adam Thomas, Angus Grierson, Krishna Lall (trombone)
Christopher Wilkin (bass trombone)
Miguel Nava, Evan Cryer-Jenkins, Lorna Barron, Henry Butler (trumpet)
Kaito Arai (guitar)
Myles Vinh Farr (piano)
Jordy Juritz (bass)
Tsubasa Dance Matsutani (drums)
Elle Soo, Jacob James (vocals)