Julian Costello Quartet

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Tuesday 25 th September 2018

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

After the release of their critically acclaimed album Transitions on 33 Jazz Records recorded at the Artesuono Studios in Italy, the group make a return to PizzaExpress as they tour the UK this Autumn. With an International line up of musicians, this group likes to jam and the tunes often segue from one to the next encompassing exciting grooves, memorable melodies and great humour. Expect high energy, virtuosity and an entertaining band.

Photos credits:  Lisa Miniussi/Ian Berle

Read more ...

"Julian Costello is a sax lyricist, telling his stories of life’s ups and downs with perfect alteration of tone to impart strength, humour and even frailty at times.This is a great album, strong, tenacious in its quality and simply makes a great listen"

Sammie Stein Jazz in Europe

The Julian Costello Quartet featuring Julian Costello on Tenor and Soprano Sax, Maciek Pysz on Electric and Classical Guitars, Yuri Goloubev on Double Bass and Adam Teixeira on Drums/Percussion will be performing tunes from their highly acclaimed album Transitions. "It's an inventive, good- humored album full of warmth and humanity.....The music encompasses free-form passages, flowing and often romantic melodies, insistent hooks (the lovely "Earworm" isn't the only earworm on this album) and inventive soloing. Bruce Lindsay for All About Jazz. They are touring the UK and will be holding Q and A sessions with audiences and playing some new compositions. Tunes from the album have been featured on radio stations in France, Italy, Poland, Germany and the USA. Maciek and Julian played live in session on Jazzfm "Beautiful" Chris Philips and the US Critic ken Avis said ""Its one of those albums which creates it's own mood, an album to listen to from beginning to end....and then come back to it, time after time. Musicianship in service of the music more than the ego". 


Band Lineup

Julian Costello (tenor and soprano sax)

Maciek Pysz (electric and classical guitars)

Yuri Goloubev (double bass)

Adam Teixeira (drums/percussion)