The Filthy Six

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Saturday 18 th August 2018

PizzaExpress Live (Maidstone)

The Filthy Six are the most exciting, authentic Soul Jazz outfit in the UK today and have established themselves as one of the most electric live acts on the scene. Their soaring horns, blistering guitar and gut-wrenching Hammond are fuelled by one of the hardest grooving rhythm sections around, producing a hip-shakingly powerful mixture of jazz, funk and boogaloo totally in keeping with the finest traditions of the Blue Note sound.

Read more ...

"Impressive Soul Jazz sounds... A groove monster!" - Craig Charles (Funk & Soul Show BBC 6Music)

“Vintage gems… consummate musicianship, groove, style and panache… overwhelming motoric jazzers! " ⭐⭐⭐⭐ - Blues & Soul Magazine

Led by trumpeter Nick Etwell (Tom Jones, Mavis Staples, Foo Fighters) this crack unit of erudite musical gunslingers have worked with some of the biggest names in music including Amy Winehouse, Beck, David Axelrod, Mark Ronson, Jill Scott, Jack White, Dionne Warwick, Mumford & Sons, Fred Wesley, Pee Wee Ellis, Ronnie Spector, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats, Antibalas, Spiritualized and the Atomic Bomb Band to name but a few. These instrumental groove merchants fuse boundless energy and incredible musicianship to create tight, funky music that moves the mind, body and soul whilst simultaneously tearing the roof off every venue they play. Their third studio album - More Filth (Acid Jazz Records) - has taken the band out on the road in the UK, Europe and the USA, receiving airplay on BBC 6Music (Huey Morgan, Craig Charles Funk & Soul Show), BBC Radio London and Jazz FM. The album is undoubtedly their filthiest yet, jam packed full of Soul Jazz workouts and heavy funk grooves scientifically engineered to have you moving and grooving so hard you'll burn holes in not 1 but 2 pairs of boots and a large chunk of that dance floor too. Bad. Ass. The end of 2017 also saw the Filth’s track 'Mr Morris' feature on The Craig Charles Funk & Soul Club Vol 5 compilation, out now on Freestyle Records. Let’s see what 2018 brings…

“Extremely funky. Intricate guitars, perfect brass breaks and groovy Hammond, all moving along to a beat that should see the dance floor breaking into a sweat without question.” 
Scootering Magazine

Band Lineup

Nick Etwell (trumpet)

Mark Brown (tenor sax)

James Fenn (guitar)

Pete Whittaker (organ)

Dan Drury (bass)

Simon Lea (drums)