Donna Lewis 'Brand New Day' Launch

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 17 th June 2016

The Pheasantry (Chelsea)

'I Love You Always Forever' (from the multiple-platinum selling Now In A Minute) was such a huge hit for Donna Lewis - a #1 chart hit / dance-pop classic for which people around the globe still have boundless affection - the 1996 song will always be the one for which many fans know her. But the Welsh native is an artist of many dimensions and her eagerly awaited new album, Brand New Day (released in UK on June 17th on Whirlwind Recordings), is a striking departure from anything she has done before. Produced by her longtime friend and collaborator David Torn, the album redefines her as an artist while maintaining the wonderful open qualities her fans love.

Read more ...

Lewis’ fifth studio recording is an intimate, jazz-infused covers/original album. The conservatory-trained daughter of a jazz pianist has heretofore forged her place in the pop world through styles like atmospheric art pop, singer/songwriter folk, traditional jazz, and classical. While Lewis' last album, 2008's In the Pink, was heavily electronic, Brand New Day explores a much more stripped-down acoustic sound. Lewis has toured often in a duo setting, accompanying herself on piano with a bassist at her side; here, however, she pares down her focus even further by handling only the vocals, leaving all instrumental duties with the capable trio featuring pianist Ethan Iverson, bassist Reid Anderson, and drummer Dave King, who are perfectly suited to back Lewis on this project.

On this rare and intimate two-night residency, Donna releases her new album in style with her new European band consisting of an A-list of contemporary jazz stars who have collectively worked with everyone from the Rolling Stones to Shirley Horn to Joe Lovano Quincy Jones to Billy Cobham: Alex Garnett on tenor saxophone, Michael Janisch on double bass, Steve Hamilton on piano and Andrew Bain on drums.

Band Lineup

Donna Lewis (vocals)

Alex Garnett (tenor saxophone)

Steve Hamilton (piano)

Michael Janisch (double bass)

Andrew Bain (drums)