Gareth Lockrane Big Band

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Sunday 9 th February 2020

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Big Band Sunday Lunchtime concerts have become an established feature of JBGB Events music presentations at PizzaExpress Jazz Club on London’s Dean Street, and our 2020 programme continues that tradition with another high profile convert. JBGB Events have, for the last two years, been enthusiastic promoters of the Gareth Lockrane Big Band and we are once again proud to promote their brilliant music and outstanding musicians, as we have done in 2018 and 2019 to enthusiastic jazz lovers in sold out concerts.

Read more ...

“...Lockrane is the next best thing and the most exciting and inventive instrumentalist in the country.”

Jack Massarick (London Evening Standard)

The Gareth Lockrane Big Band is, in our opinion, the greatest ever UK Big Band and ranks alongside the great bands, from what has traditionally been the exclusive preserve, of the USA.

Think of the Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Band that in the late 1980’s revolutionised Big Band arrangements, and then Wynton Marsalis and his Lincoln Centre Orchestra in the 1990’s that made virtuosity common place, but then add new writing and distinctive arrangements, with a band leader playing flutes, and you have their 21st century dynamic successor in the Gareth Lockrane and his Big Band.

For those who have attended their sell out concerts this year at PizzaExpress Live Dean Street, please come back for more. If you have yet to enjoy this remarkable world class 19-piece band, please join us for this Sunday lunchtime concert that will delight and amaze.

Gareth Lockrane (flutes/composition)
Andy Greenwood, Tom Walsh, Steve Fishwick, Henry Collins (trumpets)
Mark Nightingale, Trevor Mires, Barnaby Dickinson, Barry Clements (trombones)
Sam Mayne, James Gardiner-Bateman, Graeme Blevins, Alex Garnett, Richard Shepherd (saxes)
Ross Stanley (piano)
Mike Outram (guitar)
Ryan Trebilcock (bass)
Ian Thomas (drums)
Hugh Wilkinson (percussion)