Kasper Rietkerk's KRSIX

'The Island' Album Launch

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Award-winning saxophonist Kasper Rietkerk will launch his debut album with his sextet, KRSIX. For this special night, they will be accompanied by a string quartet for which Kasper arranged all his brand-new music. Kasper is known for his unique style rooted in the jazz tradition, yet unafraid to take detours into rock and folk music. 'The Island' features many guest musicians from his generation, such as Emma Rawicz, Anatole Muster, and Immy Churchill.

Read more ...


"Great alto sound that carried strongly over the band"

Jason Yarde

Book tickets for Kasper Rietkerk's KRSIX

Award-winning saxophonist Kasper Rietkerk worked with Eddie Chacon, John Caroll Kirby, Ben Nobuto, Jean Toussaint (among others) and he is part of the Emma Rawicz Jazz Orchestra. He did several tv and radio performances and took part in writing the music for VPRO’s television series ‘Naar Bed’. In 2023 Kasper and his band KRSIX played several gigs in the UK, where Kasper is based, and in the Netherlands, where he is originally from.

With his Dutch group Das Sound Kollektiv, Kasper released two albums and an EP of which they got most ‘successful’ with their ‘+1’ release. For this release he worked with many singers and rappers as Ntjam Rosie, Ruben Hein, Rico and Tennishu (Butcher Brown).

Kasper is an alto saxophonist who started playing saxophone at a young age. A bit later, he first heard the sound of saxophonists like Cannonball Adderley, Kenny Garret and Paul Desmond and that made him eventually decide to study jazz saxophone. After his bachelor's degree he moved to London and graduated from his masters at the Royal Academy of Music in 2023, where he got an award for his final exam performance.

Kasper and his band have been working on his debut album 'The Island' for a very long time. During the process, Kasper decided to dive into writing for a string quartet too which results in a unique sound on the album. Tonight will be the night that his album is finally released! 

Kasper is involved in other projects such as the Medan Trio, where he writes and performs improvised music accompanied by visual art. From 2019 till 2021, he played lead alto in the National Youth Jazz Orchestra from the Netherlands, which was led by Ruben Hein.

Band Line Up

Kasper Rietkerk (alto saxophone)

Max Mcleish (trombone)

Jonah Evans (drums)

Toby Yapp (double bass)

Benji Bown (piano)

Alex Lockheart (guitar)

String Quartet: Ezo Sarici/Emily Harrison/Charlie Howells/Cubby Howard