ACID JAZZ Series In Association with Shades of Soul

Local Authority x Beckton Alps

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Wednesday 15 th May 2019

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

'Local Authority x Beckton Alps' will see the quartet Local Authority present a new project 'Beckton Alps' which melds the energetic fusion of Weather Report with the haunting songwriting of Nick Drake, with a nod to the hip hop and soul sensibilities of the Soulquarians.

Read more ...

"British Jazz Guitarist Ed Riches has worked with numerous Grammy, Mobo & BBC award winners and plays concerts and festivals across Europe and beyond"

The Financial Times

Local Authority's sonic landscape ranges from Woodstock to Notting Hill Carnival, from Berghain to Small's Jazz Club, via Brick Lane Beigel Bake. Expect lyrical melodies, electro-acoustic textures, danceable cross-rhythms and exploratory jazz improvisations. With infectious rhythmic figures and emotive harmony that borrows as much from white English folk as black Gospel music, Local Authority’s sound is complex but accessible. 

Local Authority have performed at Love Supreme Festival, Red Bull Music Academy, Gibson UK, Karamel, Ghostnotes and Jazz Re:freshed and are supported by the UK National Portfolio Organisation 'Tomorrow's Warriors'.

Ed Riches is a British guitarist who has worked on Grammy-winner Bilal’s world tours, Miguel Atwood Ferguson’s ‘Suite for Ma Dukes’ Orchestra, DJ Jazzy Jeff’s ‘Playlist Sessions’, Ayanna Witter-Johnson’s ‘Black Panther’ ensemble as well as sessions for Omar, N’Dambi, Marsha Ambrosius, Ntjam Rosie & Vels Trio. 

Dian Gasper is a keyboardist, film composer and educator who has performed worldwide with many legendary musicians including Myrna Hague, Gary Crosby, Jazz Jamaica, Zara McFarlane, Denys Baptise and Tomorrow’s Warriors.   

Nate Bossoh is a London born bass player who has worked with Billy Ocean, Niji Adeleye, Mo Pleasure, Femi Temowo and many others. Pete Hill, originally from Brighton, is a London-based drummer who has worked with Alfa Mist, Hattie Whitehead and Tony Kofi.

Band Lineup

Ed Riches (guitar)
Dian Gasper (keys)
Pete Hill (drums)
Nate Bossoh (bass)