EFG London Jazz Festival 2021

Salute to Humph

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Sunday 21 st November 2021

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

2021 will see the 100th anniversary of the birth of Humphrey Lyttelton, the doyen of British Jazz, who led the way for the jazz revival of the late 40s and 50s, and brought jazz to the mainstream with the first UK jazz record to reach the Top 20, ‘Bad Penny Blues’. Lyttelton was of course just as well-known for his broadcasting work, as the host of Radio 2’s The Best of Jazz and Radio 4’s I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue. ‘Salute to Humph’ is led by jazz trumpeter Chris Hodgkins with an impressive ten-piece band featuring top UK and US musicians who will really do Humph’s music justice.

The programme will also include new original music based on Lyttelton’s writings and journals. The National Jazz Archive and The Jazz Centre in Southend (both are registered charities), who hold an archive of his private papers, instruments and other ephemera, are supporting the tour; a travelling exhibition on Humph’s life and times will accompany the band.

The show is a multimedia presentation and there will be a visual archive display during the performance.

The tour has the support of Susan da Costa, Humph’s long-time manager.

Band Line Up

Chris Hodgkins (trumpet)
Henry Lowther (trumpet)
Charlotte Glasson (sax)
Diane McLoughlin (sax)
Mark Bassey (trombone)
Alison Rayner (double bass)
Buster Birch (drums)
Alex Clarke (sax)
Jinjoo Yoo (piano)
Wayne Wilkinson (guitar)