Sarah Moule and Simon Wallace 'Stormy Emotions'

Live Launch

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Wednesday 30 th June 2021

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Sarah Moule and Simon Wallace preview their forthcoming album 'Stormy Emotions', featuring previously unrecorded songs about Time and Love by Wallace and legendary jazz lyricist, the late Fran Landesman (Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most). 'Honeyed in sound, subtle in timing and pitch' (The Guardian), Sarah is 'in the very top flight of UK vocalists' (LondonJazz). It will be the fifth album she has made with husband Simon who aside from his prolific composing career has toured internationally with Imelda Staunton, The Lindsay Kemp Company, Ian Shaw and Barb Jungr.

Read more ...

"A near perfect vocal-jazz album"

John Eyles, AllAboutJazz

Sarah Moule launches her acclaimed 5th album, Stormy Emotions, with a fine band led by composer and pianist (and Moule’s husband) Simon Wallace, bassist Neville Malcolm, drummer Paul Robinson and special guest guitarist Nigel Price, all of whom play on the album.  Stormy Emotions explores themes of Time and Love in an uplifting collection of songs written by her husband Simon Wallace and the late great jazz lyricist Fran Landesman.  In eighteen years spent working with Simon and Fran, Sarah developed a uniquely close relationship to their material.   Born in New York in 1927, Landesman’s lyrics have been sung by great artists including Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan and Barbra Streisand and with this collection, including ten previously unrecorded songs, Sarah will have introduced forty-five Landesman/Wallace songs to the world.

'I got lucky meeting Simon. That he married Sarah Moule was a bonus.
She's the jazz singer par excellence.Fran Landesman

Recorded in their studio in SE London amidst the challenges of 2020, the album features a group of Sarah and Simon's long-time musical collaborators: bassists Mick Hutton and Neville Malcolm, drummers Paul Robinson and Rod Youngs, guitarists Nigel Price and Charlie Cawood, and saxophonist Mark Lockheart.

The title track was written on the day Fran and Simon met.  Eighteen years later, on the day Fran passed away, they finished Nothing Is Mine Now, the album's opening track.

Sarah spent six years as featured vocalist with The John Wilson Orchestra before becoming a solo recording artist and releasing her first two albums on Linn Records and two further highly acclaimed albums on Red Ram Records. 

When Simon met Fran in 1993 he had recently returned from 3 years touring worldwide with the Lindsay Kemp Company and was writing music for TV shows including Absolutely Fabulous and French and Saunders.  For the next eighteen years the couple got together every week to write producing a catalogue of over 300 songs.

Band Lineup

SArah Moule (vocals)

Simon Wallace (piano)

Neville Malcolm (double bass)

Paul Robinson (drums)

Special Guest Nigel Price (guitar)