The Delegates

Debut Album Launch

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Wednesday 27 th March 2019

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

The Delegates are a pop and soul band who have been gigging regularly around London over the past year, and have also amassed over 30,000 views on their YouTube channel. Tonight they are launching their debut album. A night celebrating some of their favourite music, brand new originals as well as all of the songs from the new album. They’ll also be joined by the incredible vocalists featured on the album as well as some fantastic special guests. Expect a night of funky grooves, beautiful ballads and some sensational solos.

The Delegates formed over 3 years ago and have since gained a substantial online following by releasing new arrangements on popular pop songs onto their YouTube channel.

Led by Drummer and Arranger Sam Every, the core band consists of some of the brightest young stars on the UK jazz scene, including BBC Young Jazz musician finalist Noah Stoneman and 2016 winner, Alexandra Ridout. Between them, the band have played sold out shows at the BBC Proms, the English Jazz Festival, the Royal Festival Hall, Ronnie Scotts, the 606 jazz club, the
Edinburgh Jazz festival plus many, many more.

All of the band members currently study at the prestigious Guildhall School of Music and Drama or the Royal Academy of Music. Since starting in their first year in September, they have been regular performing around London including venues like Zigfrid Von Underbelly, PizzaExpress Soho and the Luna Lounge.

After receiving such substantial online and live support, Sam Every, alongside songwriter and producer Gabriel Davies and bass player Seth Tackaberry, began writing original music for the band and in November of 2018 they went into studio to record their debut album. The album features 7 incredible guest vocalists - Sara Colman, Luca Manning, Darcey Williams, Elliott Cole, Meg Bird, Grace Archer and Rosina Bullen. The album also pays homage to the band members time in jazz education both at the Purcell School of Music and the Junior Department at the Royal Academy of music by featuring incredible saxophonist Simon Allen and legendary jazz flautist Gareth Lockrane. Every’s songwriting influences take inspiration from artists such as Billy Joel, Theo Katzman, Joe Dosik, Gabriel, Michael Jackson and Stevie Wonder. A mix of funky groove and slow ballads inspired by some of his favourite artists and featuring some of his favourite musicians.

The Delegates are incredibly happy to be playing at the PizzaExpress Holborn and hope you
enjoy the performance!

Band Lineup

Sam Every (MD/drums)
Seth Tackaberry (bass)
Harry Greene (guitar)
Noah Stoneman (keyboard)
Alex Temple-Head (percussion)
Alexandra Ridout and Finn Bradley (trumpet)
Jonny Ford (tenor saxophone)
Jimmy Jefford (bari saxophone)
Harry Maund (trombone)
Guest Vocalists - Luca Manning, Meg Bird, Grace Archer, Elliott Cole, Darcey Williams

Gareth Lockrane (flute) / Simon Allen (saxophone) - special guests!