The Impossible Gentlemen

Let’s Get Deluxe

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Monday 1 st August 2016

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

Launching their third album Let’s Get Deluxe the Anglo-American jazz ‘supergroup’, The Impossible Gentlemen are back. Featuring internationally acclaimed British piano sensation Gwilym Simcock, Salford guitarist and UK treasure Mike Walker, American bass and drums superstars Steve Rodby and Adam Nussbaum the band has now upgraded to a more expansive sound with the addition of multi-reeds instrumentalist, Iain Dixon. The result is nothing less than remarkable with five unique talents, all superb players in their own right, coming together to create something new and powerful.

Read more ...

"The upper echelon of the jazz world is a place of constantly shifting alliances. But even by those standards, the Impossible Gentlemen is a rare and fabulous group of talents"

The Times

Multi award winning pianist Gwilym Simcock has been named checked as a "genius" by no less Chick Corea and has worked extensively throughout Europe with the cream of British and international jazz artists including Dave Holland, Kenny Wheeler, Lee Konitz, Bill Bruford’s Earthworks, Bob Mintzer and Bobby McFerrin.  Mike Walker  is regarded as one of Europe's most exciting guitarists and has worked with George Russell's Creative jazz Orchestra, Vince Mendoza, Anthony Braxton, Bill Frisell, Tim Berne, and Mark-Anthony Turnage. New member Iain Dixon is an extraordinary reeds player who has had a varied career as both performer and session player.  He has recorded with Michael Brecker, Joni Mitchell, The Spice Girls and most recently Bryan Ferry.   Steve Rodby  is best known for his work with the Pat Metheny Group and as  producer for many classic albums for Michael Brecker, Pat Metheny, Charlie Haden, Eliane Elias, Oregon, Esperanza Spalding and many others.  He has won 13 Grammys. Adam Nussbaum has worked on many projects and his work with Michael Brecker won a Grammy in 1988.

Band Lineup

Mike Walker (guitar)

Gwilym Simcock (piano)

Iain Dixon (reeds)

Steve Rodby (bass)

Adam Nussbaum (drums)