Nick Luscombe presents

The Lydian Collective & Jasmine Power

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Monday 20 th June 2016

PizzaExpress Jazz Club (Soho)

BBC Radio 3’s Nick Luscombe presents an exclusive double bill featuring the dynamic instrumental 4-piece, Lydian Collective.Their sound transcends a fusion of styles and textures blending Jazz/World/Folk/Electronic and Classical. Look out for their new album coming soon.

Support is from young jazz singer and composer, Jasmine Power and her band. Her debut EP 'Stories and Rhymes' has already won praise and plays from Jamie Cullum on BBC Radio 2, Gilles Peterson on BBC 6 Music as well as Nick Luscombe himself on his Late Junction show for BBC Radio 3.

Read more ...

BBC Radio 3 Late Junction presenter Nick Luscombe presents live music from two rising stars in the new jazz world.

 The Lydian Collective are a dynamic 4-piece instrumental group formed by composer / producer Aaron Wheeler (aka Laszlo) and fellow composer and guitarist Todd Baker. The duo are joined by an impressive female rhythm section, featuring in-demand drummer Sophie Alloway, and the talented Ida Hollis on Bass. Their refreshing brand of original fusion based music is rich in harmony and groove, showcasing the depth and diversity of their compositional skill and musicianship.

With their sound transcending a fusion of styles and textures, blending Jazz/World/Folk/Electronic and Classical it’s no wonder Nick Luscombe has been championing this talented group through his radio shows since he first discovered them back in 2010.

Band members: Aaron Wheeler (Keyboards), Todd Baker (Gutar), Sophie Alloway (Drums), Ida Hollis (Bass).

 Support is from young jazz singer and composer, Jasmine Power and her band. Jasmine draws from her love for classic pop, film soundtracks and even neo-soul influences to create something fresh and very much her own.

 Her beautifully produced EP, Stories & Rhymes EP features some of London’s brightest new talents including pianist Joe Armon-Jones, bassist Daniel Casimir, trumpeter Harrison Cole and drummer Moses Boyd and has already received support from the likes of Jamie Cullum (Radio 2), Gilles Peterson (6 Music) and Nick Luscombe (Late Junction/Radio 3).

 Band Members: Jasmine Power (Vocals), Dan Messore (Guitar), Olly Sarkar-Samuels (Drums), Joe Armon-Jones (Piano), Harrison Cole (Trumpet), Daniel Casimir (Bass).