The Thunderthumbs Project

Event Has Passed

Last Show: Friday 20 th May 2022

PizzaExpress Live (Holborn)

Thunderthumbs - A celebration of the bass playing and musical mastery of the great Louis Johnson of ’The Brothers Johnson'. The man who put the thumb into the funk! Superb 10 piece band led by soul/funk, jazz and pop bass supremo Phil Mulford.
From Michael Jackson's Thriller and Off The Wall to Quincy Jones' Mellow Madness and so many other legends amongst the great names of his era, Louis was the Johnson Brother who added the fire to so much unforgettable music this night will revisit.

As one half of The Brothers Johnson, Louis Johnson backed legends Billy Preston and Bobby Womack before co-penning celebrated singles such as the Brothers Johnson's wonderful Quincy Jones produced hit 'Stomp'. His bass on Quincy’s ‘Mellow Madness’ positioned him as a unique and formidable talent in his own right while his innovations on the biggest selling album of all time, Michael Jackson's Thriller (not to forget his contribution to Off The Wall too) elevated his status further. For so many of the great artists of his era, Louis was the sorcerer who added his magic musical spice through formidable technique to so much unforgettable music that this night revisits.

Louis Johnson worked with everyone from Anita Baker, Stevie Nicks and Aretha Franklin to Herbie Hancock, George Duke and Stevie Wonder, it's a treasure chest of fabulous music to select from. Great songs abound in the Thunderthumbs set starting with a Billy Preston stomper from 1972 through many of the Quincy Jones hits he enhanced so brilliantly - famously so many huge songs with Michael Jackson, George Benson’s Love X Love, Michael McDonald’s I Keep Forgetting, Brothers Johnson’s Stomp and Strawberry Letter 23, Jeffrey Osborne’s Ain’t Nothin’ Missin’.

A top-class 10-piece band led by one the UK’s one and only bass wizard Phil Mulford takes you on journey back to these wondrous classics.

Thunderthumbs lineup:
Phil Mulford - Bass (Lionel Richie, Lewis Taylor, Beyonce)
Hazel Fernandes - Vocals (Jamiroquai, Odyssey)
Michael Johnson - Vocals (Push, Booker Newberry III)
Geoff Dunn - Drums (Incognito, Terence Trent Darby)
Nico Sabatini - Guitar (Joss Stone, Hamilton)
Simon Heeley - Keyboards (Four Tops, Temptations)
Mark White - Trumpet (Bee Gees, Annie Lennox)
Phil Todd - Sax and Woodwinds (Oleta Adams, Whitney Houston)
Neil Sidwell - Trombone (Chaka Khan, Tom Jones)

Band Lineup

Phil Mulford (Bass)
Hazel Fernandes (Vocals)
Michael Johnson (Vocals)
Geoff Dunn (Drums)
Nico Sabatini (Guitar)
Simon Heeley (Keyboards)
Mark White (Trumpet)
Phil Todd (Sax and Woodwinds)
Neil Sidwell (Trombone)